• Four Mississippi Counties Declared Eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance

    JACKSON—Gov. Phil Bryant announces that four counties affected by Hurricane Isaac have been declared major disaster areas eligible for certain FEMA Individual Assistance benefits.

    Impacted residents in Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties could be eligible for certain federal assistance programs.

    Individuals and business owners in the impacted areas could also be eligible for low-interest loans offered by the Small Business Administration.

    “Mississippians have been impacted by Isaac, and the availability of these federal assistance programs will help individuals, business owners and their families recover,” Gov. Phil Bryant said.

    This declaration makes specific federal grants and assistance programs available to individuals. Residents in declared counties could be eligible to receive assistance such as:

    • Grants for temporary housing and storm-related home repairs.
    • Assistance with storm-related medical and dental costs.
    • Grants to replace destroyed clothing and household items.
    • Crisis counseling.
    • Disaster unemployment assistance.
    • Disaster legal services.

    Individuals and business owners in the declared counties who sustained losses can apply for assistance today by phone at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. These toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6 a.m. until midnight local time seven days per week until further notice. Online application is available at www.disasterassistance.gov or by web enabled mobile device at m.fema.gov.


    # # #

  • Comments are closed.